Five New Lifetime Honorary Members Named by Detroit Sports Broadcasters Association

Five New Lifetime Honorary Members Named by Detroit Sports Broadcasters Association
DETROIT – February 3, 2017 – The highest individual membership honor has been bestowed upon five sports-industry professionals by the Detroit Sports Broadcasters Association (DSBA). 

– Tom Ryan, public address announcer for 51 seasons at Calihan Hall for the University of Detroit Mercy Titan men’s basketball team. Longtime radio and TV program host and personality on stations WDIV-Channel 4, WOMC-FM and several others. 
– Jim Streeter, Associate AD and sports information director for 39 years at Eastern Michigan University Eagles. At the time of his 2012 retirement, he was the longest-tenured Division I sports information director in Michigan. Helped train and mentor numerous individuals who started as students, graduate assistants or interns at EMU Athletics. 2007 DSBA Kathy Best “Best of the Best Award” winner. Former DSBA office-holder.
Nick Vista, retired Sports Information Director of Michigan State University Spartans. Also recognized for numerous national awards for his work at MSU and the United States Olympic Committee. Worked several Olympic Games as a U.S. press officer. Mentored many students in the MSU Athletic Department in their sports information careers. From 1981-82, he was president of the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).
– Richard Wilson, former public relations director of thoroughbred and harness racing tracks in Metro Detroit. Retired and living in South Florida. Instrumental in assisting print and broadcast professionals with race results and race-track information.
– Bill Wischman, former chief executive of Pro Am Sports Systems (PASS) with rights to Detroit Tigers, Red Wings and Pistons games. Longtime treasurer and office-holder of the Detroit Sports Broadcasters Association. Board member of various organizations including Henry Ford Hospital and the John Fetzer Foundation. Former chairman of the Michigan Sports Hall of Fame.

For more information contact:
Trevor Thompson, DSBA President 
George Eichorn, DSBA Executive Director
(586) 558-9103-office